Jun 28, 2023 4:41 PM

Cyprus's history of currency notes reflects its complex political and economic developments. Here is an overview of Cyprus's currency notes history:

  1. British Colonial Period: From 1879 to 1960, Cyprus was a British colony, and the currency used was the British Pound. British banknotes circulated on the island during this time.
  2. Independence and the Cyprus Pound: Cyprus gained independence from British rule in 1960. The newly established Central Bank of Cyprus introduced the Cyprus Pound (CYP) as the national currency. The first series of Cypriot banknotes featured images of notable Cypriot figures, landmarks, and cultural motifs.
  3. Turkish Cypriot Currency: Following political tensions between the Greek and Turkish Cypriot communities, the island was divided in 1974. As a result, the Turkish Cypriot community in the northern part of the island introduced its own currency, known as the Turkish Lira.
  4. Introduction of the Euro: In 2008, Cyprus adopted the Euro (EUR) as its official currency, becoming a member of the Eurozone. As a Eurozone member, Cyprus no longer issues its own currency notes but uses Euro banknotes and coins for all transactions.
  5. Banknote Designs: Prior to the Euro adoption, Cypriot banknotes showcased various themes and symbols reflecting the country's history, culture, and natural heritage. These included images of ancient artifacts, archaeological sites, famous Cypriot personalities, and natural landscapes. The banknotes also incorporated security features to prevent counterfeiting.

While Cyprus no longer has its own currency notes, its historical banknotes provide insight into the island's cultural heritage and national identity. The adoption of the Euro streamlined the monetary system, facilitated international trade and tourism, and aligned Cyprus with other European Union member states.