May 13, 2023 5:55 AM

Algeria's currency history dates back to 1834 when the French government introduced the franc as the official currency. After Algeria's independence from France in 1962, the National Bank of Algeria began issuing the Algerian dinar as the official currency.

The first series of banknotes was issued in 1964, and it featured images of famous Algerian freedom fighters and landmarks. Over the years, several series of banknotes have been issued, each featuring different images and designs, reflecting Algeria's history and culture.

In the 1980s, the government introduced coins in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 centimes and 1 dinar. In 1992, due to the economic crisis, the government introduced a new series of banknotes with higher denominations.

In 2018, the government announced a new series of banknotes with enhanced security features and updated designs. The new series of banknotes includes denominations of 500, 1,000, 2,000, and 5,000 dinars. The new banknotes feature images of famous Algerians, landmarks, and symbols of the country's culture and history.